A total of fourteen scholarships of $2,000 are awarded each year through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Six scholarships are awarded to students who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative consumer-member receiving service from the cooperative.

Four scholarships are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two- year Illinois community college who are the sons or daughters of Illinois electric cooperative consumer-members, employees or directors.

One scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, is awarded to a student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director.

One scholarship, the “LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship,” was awarded for the first time in 2011. This $2,000 scholarship helps pay for costs to attend the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill. LaVern McEntire served as a lineman for McDonough Power Electric Cooperative from 1949 until 1991. He and his wife, Nola, endowed the scholarship to financially assist deserving individuals in becoming trained lineworkers. Sons and daughters of co-op members; relatives of co-op employees or directors; individuals enrolled in the Lincoln Land lineworker’s school; and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible for the lineworker’s scholarship.

Questions regarding the scholarships can be directed to tmellert@srecoop.org or by calling the office at 309.647.2700.


Click here for the Official Rules & Application